About The Baltic Sea Region

the-baltic-seaOne of the things that makes the world beautiful is its natural resources – such as water. The Baltic Sea measures about 1600km in length and it is about 55m deep on average. Covering and area of about 377,000km2, it has been a source of wealth to the people of the Baltic Sea Region.

One of the characteristics that distinguishes the Baltic sea it’s its unique marine ecosystem that makes the preservation of these waters worthwhile, even more so because it’s one of the bodies that has created the most fishing opportunities for the inhabitants in the area and worldwide.

A number of countries have direct access to the Baltic Sea, so these are the member states of the BSSSC. The Baltic Sea more or less stems from the Atlantic Ocean and it is one of the few brackish inland seas in the world. The basin of this sea was formed by glacial erosion and this is another special feature that has made this area a hub for tourism.

Countries that are found on the borders or the banks of the Baltic Sea include:

  • Germany
  • Poland
  • Finland
  • Denmark
  • Russia
  • Sweden

The numerous resources around this region demand preservation and proper use. This is only possible through coherence and understanding between the countries that share this unique resource. This merely shows the need to have a common body to discuss the interests of these nations hence the formation of the BSSSC.

This region is well adorned by state of the art infrastructure such as the Great Belt Bridge of Denmark, that has facilitated increased economic activities among the people.

However, increased pollution and human activities have posed a big threat to the general wellbeing of this region. This increased the need to secure the future of the marine economy and the need to preserve the resource that is the Baltic Sea: just two of the many issues that prompted the formation of the BSSC.